What is the difference between ‘Kowloon’ and ‘Kowloon City’?

“Kowloon” and “Kowloon City” refer to different geographical entities within Hong Kong, and it’s important to distinguish between the two:


Geographical Area

Kowloon refers to the entire urban peninsula located to the north of Hong Kong Island, south of the main territory’s border with mainland China. It’s one of the three main regions of Hong Kong, the others being Hong Kong Island and the New Territories.


Kowloon is divided into several districts, including Kowloon City, Yau Tsim Mong, Sham Shui Po, Wong Tai Sin, and Kwun Tong. Each of these districts has its own unique characteristics and neighborhoods.


Kowloon is a major hub of residential, commercial, and cultural activities in Hong Kong. Landmarks such as the Kowloon Walled City Park, Tsim Sha Tsui promenade, and the Wong Tai Sin Temple are located in Kowloon.

Kowloon City

Geographical Area

Kowloon City is one of the districts within the larger Kowloon region. It’s located in the central part of the Kowloon peninsula.


Historically, Kowloon City is known for the Kowloon Walled City, a densely populated and virtually lawless enclave that was demolished in the 1990s. Today, the site of the former Walled City is a park.

Kowloon City is also known for its culinary scene, with many Thai and local restaurants, like:


Kowloon City is bordered by other Kowloon districts such as Sham Shui Po to the west, Wong Tai Sin to the north, and Kwun Tong to the east.

In summary, while “Kowloon” refers to the broader peninsula and encompasses multiple districts, “Kowloon City” is specifically one of those districts with its own unique history and characteristics.

Also Read: Kowloon Walled City Park

Leave a Comment